Blood Diamonds – Get Free ft. Amber of Dirty Projectors [Vancouver, CA]

Before anything I’d first like to apologize for being absent for so long, I’ve been overseas for the past 3 weeks taking part in a joint military exercise but now I’m back! It’s been a tough and fruitful 2 year stint and it’s time to savor a few months of being an unemployed civilian before going for studies. So there’s a little background. Back to the music.

Reggae / Electro Pop / Synth / Dream Pop

Anybody else think young Elton John?

Blood Diamonds (Michael Diamonds) is a 22 year old Vancouver based producer known for making and mixing music that’s more than difficult to put a finger on. Personally, his music is either a hit or miss for me. You either love it or hate it. Or you know, don’t get it. But again that’s all part of his music’s charm.

Major Lazer’s track’s been out about for a year now and I’m sure it requires no introduction. I’m not gonna lie, even after putting it on repeat for a year now it still fascinates me and puts me in this weightless mood of liberation and Renaissance-esque potential. In a nutshell, it’s perf with some grass. Hence, remixes of this have been done and redone over and over again. I’ve listened to just about all of them, and this one is definitely a standout. This mix truly captures the intended emotion and amplifies it a few metaphoric million times and meticulously sprays it all over your face. Like a reggae bukkake. I’d hate to think if that was an actual thing. Watch out for the xylophone in the background, so damn dreamy. Give it a listen, you’ll get what I mean.

Here’s another dreamy track of his featuring the ever-ethereal Grimes. 

It will always be a mystery to me why Pitchfork picked Oblivion as as their song of the year. Somebody enlighten me?

If you like what you’ve heard so far, check him out at his soundcloud here.

Just gotta have the last word, dontcha?

